Tags

, , , ,

I bought some more yarn the other day – yet more for the stash… Officially, I’ve been banned from buying yarn now, until I use up some of what I’ve already got, but if it buy it (on eBay of course) at the weekend, and it gets delivered during the week, what the eye doesn’t see…….. So this new yarn is half wool half acrylic, though it’s so soft and bouncy you’d hardly guess about the acrylic bit, and I’m hoping that will make it fairly washable. I bought two colours: one beautifully variegated in blues, purples, and a fleck of goldy-green, and the other variegated in white, pale duck egg blue, and ultramarine blue. Quite seaside colours.

I’ve been slaving away over the borders of billions of granny squares, that will eventually become a big bed-spread type blanket for the cot bed when it becomes a bed (and gets used as a bed – but that’s another post!), and kept longing to make something quickish and satisfying. So, here’s the beginning of a ripple pram blanket. I find I have to justify my crochet, so this is for the pram when it’s too warm for the footmuff, but a bit of cosy is still needed for little feet.

I got back from my art class today to find a sleeping baby (extra bonus daddy points!), so took the opportunity to sit in the sun on the trunk at the end of the bed, and hook a ripple or three. It’s lovely yarn to work with: not sticky like the cotton I’ve been using for the granny squares (there’ll be an enormous ta dah when that’s finished… sometime in the future) and not plasticky and static like acrylic. It’s from a Turkish company called Ice Yarns, who trade on eBay as yarnparadiseuk. All their yarn is incredibly good value and although I’d have a warmer, fuzzier feeling about buying something more local, or at least British, it’s the best I can justify at the moment.

20140311-171350.jpg

